Learning Goals For Mobile Applications Course

Posted: June 28, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

When it comes to smart phone applications I am admittedly a novice. It wasn’t until Stephen pulled me aside last quarter and showed my the possibilities of my droid that I had even thought about downloading new applications. Now I don’t know what I would do without applications like navigation and satellite radio.

In this mobile applications course I would like to learn more about what makes a successful mobile application vs an unsuccessful one. How do programmers and designers target what exactly users want and need and then put those needs together in a simplified mobile application?

In addition to the design process I am also interested in what types of applications tend to be used more than others and why.

I am also interested in learning more about the patent and distribution process of mobile applications. For example how do these apps make it to Droid and iPhone formats? What is the process developers must go through to get approval by the mainstream marketplace, and how much of those profits must be split with the mobile distributor?

Most of all I am interested in learning about how I could possibly develop my own application: where/ how do I find a reasonable programmer? Do I have to make my programmer a partner? What kind of user testing do I need to hold before my application can be considered good enough for distribution?

Overall I am excited to learn more about mobile applications and the ways they can grow to viral use. I think they are becoming vital tools in usability and marketing and know that this is a realm I will benefit from learning more about.

Comments

Leave a Reply

