Week 6 – Com 597 Storytelling – YouTube Takes Over Web Search

Posted: November 5, 2010 in Digital Media, social media
Tags: , , , , ,

Lately I have been thinking a lot about the future of TV and where digital media communications are going. Last night when we spoke about Hulu and the future of TV I was somewhat shocked to learn that 25% of all online searches are now YouTube videos. I mean, I knew it was up there, but 25% is significant. I can’t help but wonder if the targeted advertising of online content has a role in the reduced searches for other media, or if it is simply that online video is taking over the digital world. Maybe it’s a bit of both.

I recognize that I use search engines less in 2010 than ever before because it seems as though the content I used to search for now comes to me. It seems as though every website I visit has suggestions for alternate media channels that I may enjoy, and, in turn, these targeted yet seemingly serendipitous selections of media take up so much of my time I don’t even touch Google.

Additionally, the mobile app world has also decreased search engine usage as we no longer need to go to an extra site (an engine) to find the latest articles, venues, and multimedia. We have apps for everything from the New York Times to Pizza Hut, and the information is available to us at the touch of a finger. At this point the only time I actually use a search engine is if I’m looking for something new- typically out of the norm from what I would normally be looking for (like a random video a friend suggested).

So do these availability factors play a role in the YouTube statistics? I believe so, but at the same time I also think it’s important to recognize the increasing demand for video on the web. We want our content on-demand, and if we can view the information we seek in the form of a video, well that’s all the better. Not to mention the fact that today’s society doesn’t believe in TV program scheduling, as we want our TV entertainment on-demand as well.

Clearly we are living in a digital culture that is getting faster and faster and is catered more and more to us each day. Is the search engine dead as we know it? I don’t think so, but this statistic illustrates the direction it’s going. Maybe the future of search only consists of random entertainment and training videos…is that a bad thing? I’m not sure, but one thing I do know – the popularity of YouTube makes it one of the most viable means of digital communication on the internet.

Leave a Reply

